ILS ÉTAIENT LÀ

Participants et exposants industriels

TETRA PAK; MONDELEZ INTERNATIONAL; TNO-Pays Bas; NESTLÉ; DANONE; KRYSPY KERNELS; ITPSA; BIOVITA; DSM NUTRITIONAL ; NATURENVIE; SKJODT-BARRETT FOODS; QUADRA INGREDIENTS; CINTECH AGROALIMENTAIRE; AGROPUR; ASSOCIATION CANADIENNE DES PRODUITS NATURELS; PRO MEXICO; NATURAL PRODUCTS CANADA; GROUPE CLUSTER WAGRALIM; AG BIO CENTRE; SILICYCLE INC; EXTENSE PHARMA; BIOVELIA; LÉO DÉSILET/FACOTEK; CELABOR;   PHARMAFRICANE; AMAZSTEV LIFESTLE BRANDS INC; PRODIGEST; YU LIFE;ABBOTT NUTRITION; DSM NUTRITIONAL; ACTUALITÉ ALIMENTAIRE/EDIKOM; SYNTBIOLAB; BIOK +; ATRIUM INNOVATIONS (GENESTRA & DOUGLAS LABORATORIES; BIOFOR-EXTRA;  PHARMA NATURE; DIANA FOODS ; ALIGO;VIT'ALL+; FEDÉRATION DES PRODUCTEURS ACERICOLES DU QUEBEC; BIOCÉAN; VALBIOTIS; GENOME QUEBEC; FRUIT D'OR; BIOFORTIS; CINTECH AGROALIMENATAIRE; KHLOROS; LABORATOIRES CLÉMASCIENCE; KSA AVOCATS; NUTRACANADA; ACTIV'INSIDE; LASSONDE; NUTRINOR; GROUPE PHARMANAGER; IDC DERMOCORRECTION;  ERGOGENIC; LESIEUR - GROUPE AVRIL; PHARMA LAB; KEFI PLANT; FSI; PHARMANAGER; ABBOTT NUTRITION; NUTRIKEO / CULTURE NUTRITION; PRODUCTEURS LAITIERS DU CANADA; GESTION SOVAR; BOTANIC CERT; LALLEMAND HEALTH SOLUTIONS; STENO DIABETES CENTER, DANEMARK; PRO CIRCUIT HIGH TECH NUTRITION; ENVIRONEX; INNOVACTIV; ALIMENT TRIGONE; 3M CANADA; PRO-AMINO INTERNATIONAL; PACHEM DISTRIBUTION; NUTRISIMPLE ;

 

Organismes/ délégations internationales/ services aux entreprises

VILLE DE QUÉBEC; QUÉBEC INTERNATIONAL; CRÉNEAU ALIMENTS SANTÉ; CRÉNEAU AGROBORÉAL; CRÉNEAU TRANSFORMACTION; CRÉNEAU RSTM; MAPAQ; AGRICULTURE CANADA; AISA - ASSOCIATION POUR LES INGRÉDIENTS SANTÉ EN ALIMENTATION; AQIA - ASSOCIATION QUÉBÉCOISE POUR L'INNOCUITÉ ALIMENTAIRE; ASQ-ALLIANCE SANTÉ QUEBEC; FONDACTION : CENTRE DE  RECHERCHE EN BIOTHECHNOLOGIE MARINE; CIATEJ -GUADALAJARA; CLUSTER AINS - INNOVATIVE BUSINESS ASSOCIATION ; NUTRITION-HEALTH; CTNS - THE TECHNOLOGICAL CENTRE OF NUTRITION AND HEALTH; PEI BIO ALLIANCE; REPRÉSENTATION DE L'ÉTAT DE BAVIÈRE AU QUÉBEC; REASEAU EURECAT/CTNS; INSPQ; GROUPE POLE DE COMPÉTITIVITÉ VITAGORA; CRSNG; POLE DE COMPETITIVITÉ FRANCAIS- NUTRITION SANTÉ LONGÉVITÉ; MITACS; CRIBIQ; CTAC - CONSEIL DE LA TRANSFORMATION ALIMENTAIRE DU QUEBEC; SANTÉ CANADA; PARI-CNRC; NATIONAL RESEARCH COUNCIL, ITALIE; MERINOV; TRANSBIOTECH

 

Universités canadiennes et internationales

UNIVERSITÉ LAVAL ; INAF- INSTITUT SUR LA NUTRITION ET ALIMENTS FONCTIONNELS, NUTRINEURO, INRA, BORDEAUX; UNIVERSITÉ DE BAYREUTH, ALLEMAGNE; DEAKIN UNIVERSITY, AUSTRALIA; WOMEN'S GLOBAL HEALTH INSTITUTE, PURDUE UNIVERSITY, IN, USA; BAYLOR COLLEGE OF MEDICINE, TX, USA; STENO DIABETES CENTER, DANEMARK; UNIVERSITY OF SOUTHAMPTON; DEPT PHARMACY & BIOTECHNOLOGY, BOLOGNA UNIVERSITY; DEPARTMENT OF PEDIATRICS, UNIVERSITY HOSPITAL OF COPENHAGEN; UNIVERSITY OF MANITOBA; UNIVERSITE DE LYON Et plusieurs autres!

PRÉSIDENTS DE SESSIONS

SESSION 1 – Santé cardiométabolique

Dr Benoît Lamarche
• Professeur, INAF, Université Laval, Canada

Après avoir complété un baccalauréat en biochimie, le Dr Benoît Lamarche a obtenu un doctorat en physiologie à l’Université Laval et a effectué un stage postdoctoral à la University of Toronto. Il est actuellement professeur titulaire à l’école de nutrition de l’Université Laval. Les recherches du Dr Lamarche consistent en des études biomédicales, cliniques et épidémiologiques de l’impact de l’alimentation et la nutrition sur les facteurs de risqué cardiométaboliques associés à l’obésité et au syndrome métabolique. Il a étudié l’impact des acides gras trans laitiers sur le risqué associé au syndrome métabolique. Ses recherches ont mené à de nombreuses collaborations avec des chercheurs renommés à travers le monde. Il a publié plus de 200 articles dans des revues i internationales et a reçu de nombreux prix et récompenses au cours de sa carrière.

Marie-Caroline Michalski

Dr. Marie-Caroline Michalski
• Université Lyon 1, France

Impact métabolique de la structure émulsionnée des graisses: le concept de « lipides rapides vs lents »

Marie-Caroline Michalski, Directrice de Recherche INRA et animatrice de l’équipe 4 du laboratoire CarMeN à Lyon, s’intéresse à l’impact de la structure et de l’organisation des lipides dans les aliments sur leurs effets sur la santé. Après une formation d’Ingénieur des Industries Alimentaires et l’obtention d’un doctorat (ENSAIA, Nancy, 1992-1998), elle a développé des recherches sur la structure et les propriétés de la matière grasse laitière et des globules gras du lait au laboratoire de Sciences et Technologies du Lait et de l’Œuf de l’INRA à Rennes (1999-2005). Depuis 2004, elle a développé au sein du laboratoire CarMeN une nouvelle thématique de recherche sur les effets de la structure des lipides sur leur absorption intestinale et leur impact métabolique, en collaboration étroite avec le CRNH Rhône-Alpes. Ses travaux ont mis en évidence chez l’homme que la digestion des lipides s’accompagne d’une absorption d’endotoxines présentes dans le microbiote intestinal, ce phénomène étant augmenté suite à une période de suralimentation. Les résultats sur l’utilisation différente des acides gras par l’organisme, selon l’ingestion de la matière grasse sous forme tartinée ou émulsionnée, ont abouti au nouveau concept de « lipides rapides vs lipides lents » dans la prise en charge des risques métaboliques liés au développement de l’obésité. Elle est investigateur principal de nombreux projets financés par des agences publiques et par des partenaires industriels, dont le projet ANR VALOBAB visant à valoriser les lipides polaires issus du babeurre présentant de potentiels bénéfices fonctionnels et métaboliques

 

Les conférences de cette session sont :

SESSION 2 – Vieillissement en santé et Inflammation Infamm’aging

Philip_CALDER

Dr Philip Calder
• Professeur, immunologie nutritionnelle, University of Southampton, Royaume-Uni

Le Dr Philip Calder est à l’unité académique de santé et développement humain de la Faculté de médecine à la University of Southampton. Il s’intéresse à l’interaction entre les nutriments, plus spécifiquement les acides gras, l’immunité et l’inflammation. Dr Calder s’est mérité plusieurs prix pour ses travaux, il compte plus de 500 publications (excluant les résumés) et est listé par Thomson Reuter comme chercheur hautement cité. Le professeur Calder a siégé à nombreux comités et panels d’experts. Il a été l’éditeur en chef du British Journal of Nutrition et il est éditeur adjoint de Clinical Science, Lipids, Journal of Nutrition, Clinical Nutrition, et Nutrition Research. Il est également membre de plusieurs autres comités éditoriaux dans les domaines de la nutrition, la science clinique et la lipidologie. Il préside actuellement deux groupes d’experts européens ILSI et siège sur le comité scientifique consultatif d’ILSI Europe.

Philip M. Sherman, M.D., FRCPC
• Directeur scientific, Institut de la recherche en santé du Canada

Professeur de pédiatrie, de microbiologie et de dentisterie à l’Hôpital pour enfants, affilié à l’Université de Toronto, où il fait partie du corps professoral depuis 1984. Il a terminé ses études de médecine à l’Université de Calgary en 1977 avant de suivre une formation en pédiatrie à l’Université de la Californie, à San Francisco, de 1977 à 1980. Il a également reçu une formation en gastroentérologie et en recherche à l’Hôpital pour enfants de Toronto et au Walter Reed Army Institute of Research à Washington, DC (1980-1984).

Phil a été président de la North American Society for Pediatric Gastroenterology, Hepatology and Nutrition et président de l’Association canadienne de gastroentérologie. Il est titulaire d’une Chaire de recherche du Canada (niveau 1) sur les maladies gastro-intestinales (2001-2015). Son programme de recherche est actuellement financé par la Fondation canadienne des maladies inflammatoires de l’intestin et les Instituts de recherche en santé du Canada (IRSC). Ses recherches portent notamment sur la transduction du signal des cellules épithéliales en réaction aux bactéries pathogènes, commensales et probiotiques.

 

Les conférences de cette session sont :

 

SESSION 3 – La santé digestive, le rôle clé du microbiote

Patrice Cani

Dr Patrice Cani
Chercheur, Université catholique de Louvain, Belgique

Dr Patrice D. Cani est chercheur au Louvain Drug Research Institute de l’Université catholique de Louvain à Bruxelles en Belgique. Il est codirecteur de l’European Associated Laboratory “NeuroMicrobiota” (INSERM, Toulouse, France/UCL, Brussels, Belgium). Les principaux intérêts de recherche du Dr Cani se situent dans les interactions entre le microbiote intestinal, l’hôte et les sytèmes biologiques spécifiques tels que le système endocannabinoide et le système immunitaire inné dans le contexte de l’obésité le diabète de type 2 et l’inflammation métabolique. Il est auteur ou co-auteur de plus de 150 publications de recherche et membre de plusieurs associations internationales.

Dr Denis Roy
Professeur, INAF, Université Laval, Canada

Dr Denis Roy a obtenu un baccalauréat et une maîtrise en microbiologie et a complété un doctorat en sciences et technologie des à l’Université Laval. Il a été le scientifique en chef de la section laitière de 1986 à 2003 du Centre de recherche et développement sur les aliments d’Agriculture et Agroalimentaire Canada à St-Hyacinthe, Québec. Il a ensuite joint le Centre de recherche en Sciences et technologie du lait (STELA) de l’Université Laval en étant titulaire de la Chaire de recherche CRSNG- industrie laitière en technologie et typicité fromagère. Dr Roy est actuellement professeur au département de sciences des aliments et membre de l’INAF. Il est titulaire d’une Chaire de recherche du Canada en biotechnologies des cultures lactiques d’intérêt laitier et probiotiques. Le Dr Roy est membre du comité exécutif de l’Association pour les ingrédients santé en alimentation (AISA).

SESSION 4 – Fonction cérébrale et santé cognitive

Lucile CapuronDr Lucile CAPURON
Chercheure, Université de Bordeaux, France

Dre Lucile Capuron est directrice de recherche et coresponsable de l’équipe de Psychoneuro-immunologie et nutrition: approches expérimentales et cliniques du Laboratoire nutrition et neurobiologie intégrée de l’INRA à l’Université de Bordeaux. L’objectif général des recherches de ce laboratoire est d’élucider les mécanismes physiopathologiques impliqués dans le développement des troubles de l’humeur et de la cognition liés à la consommation de diète de type Western. Cette diète est caractérisée entre autre par un taux élevé d’acides gras saturés et un déficit en acides gras polyinsaturés omega 3.

Dr Frédéric Calon  
• Professeur, INAF, Université Laval, Canada

Le Dr Frédéric Calon est professeur titulaire à la Faculté de pharmacie de l’Université Laval et membre de l’INAF et du CHU de Québec. Ses travaux de recherche sont orientés sur les maladies neurodégénératives, telles la maladie d’Alzheimer (MA), la maladie de Parkinson (MP) et le tremblement essentiel. Ses travaux précédents ont confirmé les effets bénéfiques d’un acide gras oméga-3 chez des souris modélisant la MA, la MP ou un accident cérébrovasculaire. Son groupe a mis en évidence l’effet de l’apport alimentaire de cet d’acide gras sur la santé électrophysiologique des neurones et contre la neuroinflammation. Le Dr Calon est coauteur de 100 publications avec comités de pairs et de 154 résumés de congrès, en plus d’articles dans des revues professionnelles ou sur invitation.

SESSION 5 – Santé des muscles et des os

Dr Claudia Gagnon
• Professeure, INAF, Université Laval, Canada

Dre Claudia Gagnon est médecin spécialiste en médecine interne, endocrinologie et métabolisme. Elle a complété une formation complémentaire en métabolisme phosphocalcique et maladies osseuses à l’Université de Melbourne en Australie. Depuis 2011, elle est professeure adjointe à la Faculté de médecine de l’Université Laval. Elle partage son temps entre la pratique de la médecine spécialisée en endocrinologie et la recherche au centre hospitalier universitaire de Québec. Docteure Gagnon détient une expertise en recherche sur la vitamine D, en particulier sur son rôle potentiel dans la prévention et le traitement du diabète de type 2. Elle a aussi une expertise clinique et en recherche sur les maladies osseuses et les troubles du métabolisme phosphocalcique. Elle s’intéresse particulièrement au risque fracturaire suivant la chirurgie bariatrique.

Robin M. Daly

Dr Robin M. Daly
• Professeur, Deakin University, Australia

Le Dr Robin Daly est titulaire d’une chaire sur l’exercice et le vieillissement. Il possède plus de 20 d’expérience dans les domaines des essais cliniques, de la santé publique et des essais d’intervention translationnels pour évaluer le rôle de l’exercice et de la nutrition dans la prévention et la gestion de maladies chroniques communes telles que l’ostéoporose, la sarcopénie, les chutes, le diabète de type 2 ainsi que le cancer de la prostate et les désordres cognitifs. Il s’intéresse également aux problématiques liées à la déficience en vitamine D et son traitement, la protéine alimentaire et l’inflammation systémique chronique de bas niveau. Il contribue activement aux plans national et international à la rédaction des recommandations pour la prévention de l’ostéoporose et des fractures par l’exercice ainsi que la prise de calcium et de vitamine D. Il est le fondateur d’Osteo-cise: Strong Bones for Life, un programme de prévention de l’ostéoporose par l’exercice.

SESSION 6 – Bénéfices santé des ressources naturelles du Nord

Yves Desjardins

Dr Yves Desjardins
• Professeur, INAF, Université Laval, Canada

Le Dr Yves Desjardins détient un doctorat en Sciences végétales de l’Université Laval. Depuis 2002, il est professeur titulaire à l’Université Laval et responsable du groupe d’intérêt sur les produits végétaux de l’INAF. Après avoir été directeur du Centre de recherche en horticulture de l’Université Lava au début des années 2000, il s’est impliqué dans le domaine des effets santé des fruits et légumes et a été un des initiateur de la création de l’INAF. À titre de directeur académique de l’Institut thiIHC2014, il a organisé le premier symposium international sur les effets santé des fruits et légumes (FAVHEALTH) qui a eu lieu en 2005 à Québec. Le Dr Desjardins s’intéresse maintenant à la génétique de la production des polyphénols et leur accumulation dans les petits fruits et de leur effet leur le diabète, la neuro-dégénération et le microbiote intestinal. Ses recherches récentes portent sur la caractérisation et l’extraction de polyphénols, plus particulièrement de proanthocyanidines trouvés dans les bleuets et les canneberges, et leurs effets sur les maladies cardiovasculaires, le syndrome métabolique, le diabète et autres maladies chroniques. Il a dirigé de nombreux réseaux d’excellence à l’échelle nationale et est très actif dans plusieurs réseaux en France, Belgique et Italie.

Pierre Ayotte
• Responsable de la division recherche – Institut national de santé publique

Biographie : à venir

BÉNÉFIQ C’EST …
Le Rendez-vous international sur les ingrédients santé qui s’est tenu du 4 au 6 Octobre 2016 au Centre des congrès de Québec. BÉNÉFIQ est un évènement unique, d’envergure internationale, alliant sciences et affaires. L’évènement se veut un moteur d’innovation pour ces domaines d’excellence à grande portée socioéconomique.

ORGANISATEURS

PARTENAIRE PRINCIPAL

Ville de Québec

PARTENAIRES FINANCIERS

Québec International Aliments Santé Accord Capitale-NationaleRSTMTransformActionAgroboreal

 

Pin It on Pinterest

Share This

THEY WERE THERE

Participants & companies

TETRA PAK; MONDELEZ INTERNATIONAL; TNO-Pays Bas; NESTLÉ; DANONE; KRYSPY KERNELS; ITPSA; BIOVITA; DSM NUTRITIONAL ; NATURENVIE; SKJODT-BARRETT FOODS; QUADRA INGREDIENTS; CINTECH AGROALIMENTAIRE; AGROPUR; ASSOCIATION CANADIENNE DES PRODUITS NATURELS; PRO MEXICO; NATURAL PRODUCTS CANADA; GROUPE CLUSTER WAGRALIM; AG BIO CENTRE; SILICYCLE INC; EXTENSE PHARMA; BIOVELIA; LÉO DÉSILET/FACOTEK; CELABOR; PHARMAFRICANE; AMAZSTEV LIFESTLE BRANDS INC; PRODIGEST; YU LIFE;ABBOTT NUTRITION; DSM NUTRITIONAL; ACTUALITÉ ALIMENTAIRE/EDIKOM; SYNTBIOLAB; BIOK +; ATRIUM INNOVATIONS (GENESTRA & DOUGLAS LABORATORIES; BIOFOR-EXTRA;  PHARMA NATURE; DIANA FOODS ; ALIGO;VIT'ALL+; FEDÉRATION DES PRODUCTEURS ACERICOLES DU QUEBEC; BIOCÉAN; VALBIOTIS; GENOME QUEBEC; FRUIT D'OR; BIOFORTIS; CINTECH AGROALIMENATAIRE; KHLOROS; LABORATOIRES CLÉMASCIENCE; KSA AVOCATS; NUTRACANADA; ACTIV'INSIDE; LASSONDE; NUTRINOR; GROUPE PHARMANAGER; IDC DERMOCORRECTION;  ERGOGENIC; LESIEUR - GROUPE AVRIL; PHARMA LAB; KEFI PLANT; FSI; PHARMANAGER; ABBOTT NUTRITION; NUTRIKEO / CULTURE NUTRITION; PRODUCTEURS LAITIERS DU CANADA; GESTION SOVAR; BOTANIC CERT; LALLEMAND HEALTH SOLUTIONS; STENO DIABETES CENTER, DANEMARK; PRO CIRCUIT HIGH TECH NUTRITION; ENVIRONEX; INNOVACTIV; ALIMENT TRIGONE; 3M CANADA; PRO-AMINO INTERNATIONAL; PACHEM DISTRIBUTION; NUTRISIMPLE ;

Organizations-international delegations- services

VILLE DE QUÉBEC; QUÉBEC INTERNATIONAL; CRÉNEAU ALIMENTS SANTÉ; CRÉNEAU AGROBORÉAL; CRÉNEAU TRANSFORMACTION; CRÉNEAU RSTM; MAPAQ; AGRICULTURE CANADA; AISA - ASSOCIATION POUR LES INGRÉDIENTS SANTÉ EN ALIMENTATION; AQIA - ASSOCIATION QUÉBÉCOISE POUR L'INNOCUITÉ ALIMENTAIRE; ASQ-ALLIANCE SANTÉ QUEBEC; FONDACTION : CENTRE DE  RECHERCHE EN BIOTHECHNOLOGIE MARINE; CIATEJ -GUADALAJARA; CLUSTER AINS - INNOVATIVE BUSINESS ASSOCIATION ; NUTRITION-HEALTH; CTNS - THE TECHNOLOGICAL CENTRE OF NUTRITION AND HEALTH; PEI BIO ALLIANCE; REPRÉSENTATION DE L'ÉTAT DE BAVIÈRE AU QUÉBEC; REASEAU EURECAT/CTNS; INSPQ; GROUPE POLE DE COMPÉTITIVITÉ VITAGORA; CRSNG; POLE DE COMPETITIVITÉ FRANCAIS- NUTRITION SANTÉ LONGÉVITÉ; MITACS; CRIBIQ; CTAC - CONSEIL DE LA TRANSFORMATION ALIMENTAIRE DU QUEBEC; SANTÉ CANADA; PARI-CNRC; NATIONAL RESEARCH COUNCIL, ITALIE; MERINOV; TRANSBIOTECH

 

Canadian and international universities

UNIVERSITÉ LAVAL ; INAF- INSTITUT SUR LA NUTRITION ET ALIMENTS FONCTIONNELS, NUTRINEURO, INRA, BORDEAUX; UNIVERSITÉ DE BAYREUTH, ALLEMAGNE; DEAKIN UNIVERSITY, AUSTRALIA; WOMEN'S GLOBAL HEALTH INSTITUTE, PURDUE UNIVERSITY, IN, USA; BAYLOR COLLEGE OF MEDICINE, TX, USA; STENO DIABETES CENTER, DANEMARK; UNIVERSITY OF SOUTHAMPTON; DEPT PHARMACY & BIOTECHNOLOGY, BOLOGNA UNIVERSITY; DEPARTMENT OF PEDIATRICS, UNIVERSITY HOSPITAL OF COPENHAGEN; UNIVERSITY OF MANITOBA; UNIVERSITE DE LYON And many more!

SESSION CHAIRMEN

SESSION 1 – Cardiometabolic Diseases

Dr. Benoît Lamarche
• Professor, INAF, Université Laval, Canada

After having completed his undergraduate training in biochemistry, Dr. Benoît Lamarche graduated with a Ph.D. in Physiology at Laval University and completed a postdoctoral fellowship at the University of Toronto Faculty of Medicine. He is currently a full professor at the Department of Food Sciences and Nutrition at Laval University. Dr. Lamarche’s research includes biomedical, clinical and epidemiological studies of the impact of diet and nutrition on cardio-metabolic risk factors associated with obesity and metabolic syndrome. Most recently, he studied the impact of dairy trans fatty acids on the risks associated with metabolic syndrome. His research has led to numerous collaborations with renowned researchers around the world. He has published more than 200 articles in international scientific journals and has received several awards over the course of his career.

Marie-Caroline Michalski

Dr. Marie-Caroline Michalski
• Université Lyon 1, France

Metabolic Impact of fat Emulsified Structure – The Concept of Fast vs Slow Lipids

Dr. Marie-Caroline Michalski is the Research Director of INRA and leader of team 4 of the CarMeN laboratory in Lyon. Her research interests revolve around the impact of food lipid structure and organization on their health effects. After training in food industry engineering and earning her PhD degree (ENSAIA, Nancy, 1992-1998), she developed research programs on the structure and properties of milk fat and milk fat globules at the Milk and Egg Science and Technology Laboratory of INRA in Rennes (199-2005). Since 2004, she has developed in the CarMeN laboratory a new research theme on the impact of the structure of lipids on their intestinal absorption and metabolic effects, in close collaboration with CRNH Rhône-Alpes. Her work has brought to light that in humans, lipid digestion is accompanied by the absorption of endotoxins present in the gut microbiota, this phenomena being increased following a period of over-nourishment. The results on the use of different fatty acids by the body, depending on the ingestion of fat in a spreadable or emulsified form have led to the new concept of “rapid vs slow lipids” in the evaluation of metabolic risks linked to the development of obesity. She is the lead investigator on various projects supported by public agencies and by industrial partners such as the ANR VALOBAB project, aimed at promoting polar lipids from buttermilk with potential functional and metabolic benefits. MC Michalski was recently decorated Knight of the Order of Agricultural Merit, awarded by the French Agricultural Ministry for her 15 years contribution do scientific research in the fields of food sciences and nutrition.

 

SESSION 2 – Healthy Aging and Inflammation Infamm’aging

Philip_CALDER

Dr. Philip Calder
• Professor of Nutritional Immunology, University of Southampton, United Kingdom

Dr. Philip Calder is Professor of Nutritional Immunology within the Human Development and Health Academic Unit of the Faculty of Medicine at the University of Southampton. He is interested in the interaction of nutrients, especially fatty acids, with immunity and inflammation. Dr. Calder has received several awards for his work, has over 400 research publications (excluding abstracts) and is listed on isiHighlyCited. Professor Calder has served on various committees and expert panels. He has recently retired as Editor-in-Chief of the British Journal of Nutrition and is an Associate Editor of Clinical Science and of Lipids. He is a member of the several other Editorial Boards.

Philip M. Sherman, MD, FRCPC
• Scientific Director 

Professor of Paediatrics, Microbiology, & Dentistry at the Hospital for Sick Children, University of Toronto where he has been on faculty since 1984. Phil completed medical school at the University of Calgary in 1977 and training in pediatrics at the University of California, San Francisco (1977-1980). Training in gastroenterology and research was completed at the Hospital for Sick Children in Toronto, and the Walter Reed Army Institute of Research in Washington, DC (1980-1984).

Phil is a Past-President of the North American Society for Pediatric Gastroenterology, Hepatology and Nutrition and a Past-President of the Canadian Association of Gastroenterology. He is the recipient of a Canada Research Chair (tier 1) in Gastrointestinal Disease (2001-2015). His research program is funded by support currently provided by the Crohn’s and Colitis Foundation of Canada and the Canadian Institutes of Health Research (CIHR). His research interests focus on epithelial cell signal transduction responses to pathogenic, commensal, and probiotic bacteria.

SESSION 3 – Digestive Health, the Role of Microbiota

Patrice Cani

Dr. Patrice Cani
• Researcher, Université catholique de Louvain, Belgium

Dr. Patrice D. Cani is a researcher at the Belgian Fund for Scientific Research and group leader in the Metabolism and Nutrition lab at the Louvain Drug Research Institute (UCL) in Brussels, Belgium. He is co-director of the European Associated Laboratory “NeuroMicrobiota” (INSERM, Toulouse, France/UCL, Brussels, Belgium). Dr. Cani’s main research interests are the investigation of interactions between the gut microbiota, host and specific biological systems such as the endocannabinoid system and the innate immune system in the context of obesity, type-2 diabetes and metabolic inflammation. He is author and co-author of more than 125 scientific research publications and a member of several international associations.

Dr. Denis Roy
Professor, INAF, Université Laval, Canada

Dr. Denis Roy obtained a BSc and an MSc in Microbiology and a PhD in Food Science and Technology at Université Laval. He was chief scientist from 1986 to 2003 for the Dairy Section of the Food Research and Development Centre of Agriculture and Agri-Food Canada in St-Hyacinthe, Quebec. He later joined the Dairy Research Centre (STELA) and became Industrial Research Chair in Cheese Technology and Typicity. Dr. Roy is currently Professor at the Department of Food Sciences and Nutrition at Université Laval and an INAF member. He also holds a Canada Research Chair in Lactic Cultures Biotechnology for Dairy and Probiotic Industries. Dr. Roy is a member of the Executive Committee of the Association for Health Ingredients in Food (AISA).

Session 4 – Brain Function and Cognitive Health

Lucile CapuronDr. Lucile CAPURON
 Researcher, Université de Bordeaux, France

Dre Lucile Capuron is research director and co-director of the group Psychoneuroimmunology and Nutrition: Experimental and Clinical Approaches, inside the Integrated Nutrition and Neurobiology lab at the INRA at l’Université de Bordeaux. The general aim of this laboratory’s research is to est explain physiopathologic mechanisms involved in the development of mood and cognition disorders linked to consumption of food from the Western type diet. This diet is characterized by a high level of saturated fatty acids and a deficit in omega 3 polyunsaturated fatty acids.

Dr. Frédéric Calon  
• Professor, INAF, Université Laval, Canada

Frédéric Calon is a professor at the School of Pharmacy at Laval University as well as a member of INAF and Quebec City’s university hospital system. His research focuses on neurodegenerative disorders such as Alzheimer’s disease (AD), Parkinson’s disease (PD), and essential tremor. His previous research confirmed the positive effects of an Omega-3 fatty acid on mice presenting symptoms of AD, PD, or stroke. His group demonstrated the effects of dietary Omega-3 on the electrophysiological health of neurons and neuroinflammation. Dr. Calon has co-authored 100 peer-reviewed publications, 154 conference abstracts, and numerous articles in professional journals or by invitation.

SESSION 5 – Muscle and Bone Health

Dr. Claudia Gagnon
• Professor, INAF, Université Laval, Canada

Dr. Claudia Gagnon, MD, specializes in internal medicine, endocrinology and metabolism. She completed additional training on phosphate calcium metabolism and bone diseases at the University of Melbourne in Australia. Since 2011, she has served as assistant professor at the Faculty of Medicine of Université Laval. She shares her time between research and practising specialized endocrinology medicine at the University Hospital Centre in Quebec City. Dr. Gagnon has expertise in research on vitamin D, more specifically on its potential role in preventing and treating type-2 diabetes. She also has research and clinical expertise on bone diseases and phosphate-calcium metabolism disorders. She is very interested in risk of fractures following bariatric surgery.

Robin M. Daly

Dr. Robin M. Daly
• Professor, Deakin University, Australia

Professor Robin Daly has over 20 years of experience in conducting human clinical, public health and translational intervention trials to evaluate the role of exercise and nutrition for preventing and managing common chronic diseases such as osteoporosis, sarcopenia, falls, type 2 diabetes and prostate cancer as well as cognitive related disorders. He is also interested in health issues related to vitamin D deficiency (and treatment), dietary protein and chronic low-grade systemic inflammation, and the translation of evidence-based research into practice. He has been an active contributor nationally and internationally to clinical guidelines in the area of exercise, calcium and vitamin D for osteoporosis and fracture prevention. He is a fellow of Sports Medicine Australia, a member of the Medical and Scientific Advisory Committee of Osteoporosis Australia and a council member of the Australian and New Zealand Bone and Mineral Society. He is also the founder of the ‘Osteo-cise: Strong Bones for Life’ community-based osteoporosis prevention exercise program.

Session 6 – Health attributes of nordic natural resources

Yves Desjardins

Dr. Yves Desjardins
• Professor, INAF, Université Laval, Canada

Dr. Yves Desjardins obtained a Ph.D. in Plant Science at Université Laval. Since 2002, he is full professor at Université Laval and is responsible for the plant products interest group of INAF. After have being head of Université Laval Centre for Horticulture Research at the beginning of the years 2000, he became involved in the field of health effects of fruits and vegetables and was instrumental in the creation of the Institute of Nutrition and Functional Food (INAF). As academic director of thiIHC2014s institute, he organized the first International Symposium on Health effects of Fruits and Vegetables (FAVHEALTH) in 2005 in Quebec City. Dr. Desjardins is now interested in the genetics of polyphenols production and accumulation in small fruits, their effect on diabetes, neurodegeneration and gut microbiota. His recent research focuses on the characterization and extraction of polyphenols and particularly proanthocyanidins found in blueberries and cranberries and their effects on cardiovascular diseases, metabolic syndrome, diabetes and other chronic diseases. He has led many networks of excellence at the national level and is active in many international networks in France, Belgium, and Italy.

Pierre Ayotte
• Responsable de la division recherche – Institut national de santé publique

Biography : Coming soon

BÉNÉFIQ IS …
The International Rendez-vous on Health Ingredients that was held from October 4 to 6, 2016, at the Quebec City Convention Centre. BÉNÉFIQ is a unique, world-class event combining science with business. With a large socioeconomic scope, the event is a motor for innovation in its areas of excellence.

MAIN PARTNER

Ville de Québec

FINANCIAL PARTNERS

Québec International Aliments Santé Accord Capitale-NationaleRSTMTransformActionAgroboreal

 

Pin It on Pinterest

Share This